Blogging about spirituality and science – Introduction to me

Hello all,

I hope that my blogs can be a blessing to all. I realize that posting about these two topics together – spirituality and science – may seem a little crazy or off-putting to some. Society’s standards put these two topics in opposition to each other. Many people would say that science is the opposition of spirituality. I am here to say that these two topics are not only aligned, they can compliment each other. I will blog more about this later. The point of this blog is to provide answers for how I see it in a way that will provide blessing and enlightenment to all.

I have a graduate degree from an accredited university in geology. My primary research focus has been on active tectonics, geomorphology, seismology and geophysics. I cannot speak with authority on other scientific disciplines, although I consider myself well-read in many other science foci. I have been involved with field work on the San Andreas fault in California, lectured as both a college professor and public lecturer, and represented large scientific research efforts at conferences, meetings, and board committees.

Before I state my religion, I want all to understand that how we perceive someone’s beliefs on religion is often based on the people that represent the religion. This is usually not the best representation of anyone’s religion. We cannot say all Muslims are terrorists because of their sect of extremists, that all Catholic priests are child molesters or that all Protestant Christians are judgmental bigots because of Westboro Baptist Church. We also can’t assume positive associations with religions.. that all Buddhists are enlightened or Mormons have perfect and wholesome family lives.

The unification of these two topics, science and spirituality, boils down to the basic search for meaning in life. What is the truth? What IS truth? Why am I here? Where did life come from? What is my purpose? What is right and wrong?

I will be addressing these questions in future posts. Blessings.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About doctorstg2020

I am both a scientist and spiritual enthusiast. These two things do not need to be contradictory. I attempt to reconcile these two trains of thought, and also present my thoughts on following God without being a self-important judgmental jerk about it.

31 responses to “Blogging about spirituality and science – Introduction to me”

  1. nakularora says :

    Sarah, Interesting topic you have chosen to write about. Spirituality and science are said to be two sides of the same coin. Science is the inquiry into the existences in the outer world whereas spirituality is the same in the inner world of our being. The end point of both the inquiries has to be same for there is but the same truth. All that differs is the path. 🙂

  2. coastalmom says :

    Thanks for the follow. I am a Christian. I have read some of your posts and see you are intelligent so I am sure you figured that out when you decided to follow. 😉
    I understand SOOOO how people can disappoint us. I struggle with it too. I am glad you followed. I have followed you as well.
    I am hoping that in our journey, that we can learn new things.

    di

  3. Pam says :

    I’m glad you are presenting these two topics. It is important to understand that science and spirituality are side by side. I read a good book back in college on the connection between the two. Unfortunately, I cannot recall the name of the book at this time. I look forward to reading your blog entries.

  4. The Taxi Dog says :

    Well; God SOMETIMES disappoints. “Thwarts”, would be a better word, ’cause I ‘want’ everything. Its in prayerful reflection that I calm down, practice meditation, and find peace.

    I’m Jewish, the Conservative branch, and politically too. A social scientist: econ, law, psych, and sociology. A little bit of everything that’s not good for my own good!! (heh heh) But far back in the day; ’72, CCNY. Thanks for noticing my blog. Taken classes in the ‘controversy’ (the false controversy) between Sci/Rel. Google “religion science different masterium’ if you haven’t already done so. Fascinating source material.

    See you around, campenero.

  5. reverendjiam says :

    thank you for following. Science is HOW God created the universe and Spirituality is WHY He created the universe. If the two don’t agree then one or the other must be wrong! As other respondents say they are two sides of the same coin! Who ever heard of a single sided coin or a single faceted diamond? Not me! Lol!
    I recon you can always the tell the difference between religious people and spiritual people – one finds it impossible to laugh whilst the other finds it impossible not too laugh!

    kindest regards, j’iam

  6. Gina Quinn says :

    I enjoy your posts and look froward to reading more!

  7. FullEmpty says :

    Thanks for a very interesting juxtaposition 🙂 I hope we can have some online conversations about the nature of belief, scepticism and reality. Looking forward to reading your posts.

  8. AngelicView says :

    Sarah, I love your blog so far! It seems you and I think a lot alike. I’m looking forward to reading more from you 🙂

  9. composed says :

    Thanks for following. I’ll definitely start reading your posts–they look interesting!

  10. talesfromthelou says :

    Hi there Sarah. looking forward to hear your mind. Lou

  11. Saurabh says :

    Science is blind without spirituality. Spirituality is lame without science. They exist mutually. Spirituality is about exploring the power of silence , connecting with the supreme being, the father of all of us, the divine souls. We all are on this beautiful journey on the path of self realization and enlightenment. 🙂

    Thanks for ur nice thoughts on this topic.

    In God’s true rememberance,
    BK Saurabh

    • doctorstg2020 says :

      So true. Both avenues lead us to a higher understanding and knowledge of life, Earth, the Universe, ourselves, and God (the supreme being/father/etc..). Thanks for reading!

  12. naturechaplain says :

    So far I like your approach to religion balanced with reason. I blog as Secular Chaplain since I think any “spirituality” needs to be grounded in Nature. Yet, people of faith and no faith can live together and work together for the common good. I wish you well.

  13. bonnielacy says :

    Thanks for following http://www.bonnielacy.com

    I am a Christian but probably not your inside the box type. I color outside the lines. And I find your blog very intriguing. I’m not a scientist, but I love God’s laboratory — this world.

    Keep on writing! I’ll follow!

  14. gaylesthoughts says :

    Thank you for following me Sarah. Interesting thoughts. A friend of mine (who has a friend who is a scientist) was talking with him one day and said that he must be atheist. The scientist laughed and said, “I believe in a great Universal energy and no amount of investigation by “us” scientists will ever discover how or why it came into being. The universe keeps moving the goalpost”. So much of science and spirituality is coming together – look at the spectrum of colours, how sound can help people. Science packages it differently.

    • doctorstg2020 says :

      It’s true, science DOES tend to package it differently. I do think that there are answers to how or why we came into being “hidden” in nature that can be discovered through science. I know that these important spiritual questions have been answered for me through scientific discovery and research! It’s important to keep looking and keep an open mind. Thanks for your thoughts, and for reading!

  15. gaylesthoughts says :

    Hi Sarah
    I’m still getting to grips with my blog but reading your reply to mine – you know, I think we all do think along the same lines – just packaged up a little differently. And at the end of the day, my thoughts are mine and yours are yours. As long as it works for you, that is wonderful. I still believe in the divine, (God), Christ and the Holy Spirit. It’s just that my understanding is far greater than what it was eight years ago. What I have experienced in that time has made me change the way I think about ‘it all’. ‘It’ is far greater than I could ever have expected.
    Gayle

  16. Margherita says :

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this
    post and also the rest of the website is also very good.

Leave a Reply

