Why Christianity Sucks (but Jesus is pretty awesome)

I hate Christians sometimes. Quick to judge, self-important a$$holes. I’m sorry for the language, but I’m using it on purpose to prove a point. Since when do Christians get to decide which words are off-limits and which words are ok? I don’t remember there being a list of bad words in the Bible (except for taking God’s name in vain. I don’t think God cares about us using the word asshole).

Oh wait.. you haven’t read the Bible have you? Well, you’ve read parts of it in church. But have you ever really sat down and read the whole thing?

I have. It’s a beautiful book. I have read it many times, memorized hundreds if not thousands of verses, and spent time in meditation on it. YES… another thing Christians feel queasy about. Meditation. Did you know that meditation is mentioned in the Bible? You are told to do it!

Genesis 24:63 And Isaac went out to meditate in the field at the eventide:

Psalms 104:34 – My meditation of him shall be sweet: I will be glad in the LORD.

Psalms 119:15 – I will meditate in thy precepts, and have respect unto thy ways.

1 Timothy 4:15 – Meditate upon these things; give thyself wholly to them; that thy profiting may appear to all.

Most Christians go to church only on occasion, never read their Bible, and rarely pray. But I’ll tell you what, they sure know how to get on their high horse when it comes to things like:

1) drinking alcohol and going to bars (uh… Jesus drank! Everyone in the Bible drank!)

2) Smoking cigarettes (I don’t smoke… but the Bible doesn’t say you can’t!)

3) Smoking weed (Tell me where in the Bible that this is a problem?)

4) Swearing/bad words (I mentioned this above)

5) Telling people who aren’t Christians that they should behave like Christians (i.e. Westboro Baptist Church. Why would you hold someone who doesn’t believe what you do to the same standards that you hold yourself to? We are told not to judge.)

OK, I’m not saying you should go out and smoke cigarettes and get high at a bar while swearing right now. In fact, doing that would make you seem just like you aren’t a Christian. Because that is how society views it. But maybe instead of judging people for making these choices (including people who claim to be Christians who do these things), your focus should be on love.

Love. Why when people hear “I’m a Christian” do they not think of love? Jesus was all about that.

Mark 12:29-31

29 And Jesus answered him, The first of all the commandments is, Hear, O Israel; The Lord our God is one Lord:

30 And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength: this is the first commandment.

31 And the second is like, namely this, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. There is none other commandment greater than these.

John 13:34  A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another.

 

I know a lot of Christians. I don’t think I could say the first thing that I think about them is “love”. Don’t get me wrong, there are a few that do get this. They DO spend time reading their Bible, they spend time in prayer, and they spend time loving people and loving God. If that were what Christians focused on, there would not be a backlash in society today against Christians.

Rant over.

images

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About doctorstg2020

I am both a scientist and spiritual enthusiast. These two things do not need to be contradictory. I attempt to reconcile these two trains of thought, and also present my thoughts on following God without being a self-important judgmental jerk about it.

21 responses to “Why Christianity Sucks (but Jesus is pretty awesome)”

  1. Jennell H says :

    Hey — thanks for the like on my blog – your blog sounds super interesting — can’t wait to read more. How do I follow??

  2. claireaudient says :

    I definitely agree with a lot of this 🙂 while Jesus does speak on the dangers of intoxication, as well as the importance of watching what you say and how you say it (James 3), his most important message is one of LOVE. Judgmental assholes are NOT spreading the word of God, and are unfortunately ruining the image of Christianity for me and many others. I really enjoyed this – great thoughts! 🙂

  3. lindajrinker says :

    You’re describing very well the huge difference between God and the church. The church is only a human institution, by and for sinners (that includes me). Like all human institutions, it’s imperfect and often mistaken. Still, we can learn together. Some churches do show more love than others — so keep speaking out for love! And thanks for following my blog!

  4. blacksun321 says :

    Thanks for the follow. Your post reflects a lot of my own troubled history with Christianity. There are a small few people who call themselves Christian and genuinely attempt to live up to the standard of being “Christ-like”, which is the literal definition of what “Christian” means. Then you’ve got people who call themselves Christian only for the purpose of fitting in with conventional society, most of them under the guidance of someone who only uses Jesus and the Bible because they are powerful symbols that hit an emotional nerve with us and it’s a good way to accumulate social influence and political power. Unfortunately the later groups represent the face of Christianity that we know, the “loudest voice”. Then there are people who attempt to live up to that standard, but don’t call themselves Christian, like myself, often because of the connotations of what the word has come to mean in our culture.

    • doctorstg2020 says :

      It’s a sad but true reality and a sign of the spiritual conflict within this world. I pray not only for myself but also for His name’s sake, that as a Christian I would reflect God and be a light to a dark world instead of being an embarrassment to His name.

  5. K. Q. Duane says :

    If Christians behaved the way you want them to, they wouldn’t be Christians, they’d just be jerks. Time to grow up and get over your vicious intolerance of people’s faith. As a youngster, you are in no position to judge! Thanks for following my blog. I hope you discover that Christianity, in all forms, is man’s best chance of attaining and preserving peace, civility, joy, happiness and serenity. You’re not helping the situation by behaving just like the dysfunctional Christians you claim to hate.

    • doctorstg2020 says :

      Hmm… I didn’t say I want them to behave sinfully. I want to see a little more love from Christians. Christianity is not man’s best chance of attaining and preserving peace, God Himself is. That’s what Jesus taught! Love God, love people. These are the greatest commandments I think maybe you didn’t read the entire blog. I wish to see a tolerance of people who have faith, and I wish to see people loving each other no matter what their beliefs. This has been an issue in the scientific community… a refusal to accept a scientist for having faith. You are right, I am in no position to judge! I am also not a “youngster”, although thanks for finding me young! God bless.

      • K. Q. Duane says :

        You forget that Jesus established Christianity on earth through the Catholic Church. How do you reconcile your views with that fact? What makes you think Christians lack love for others? That is the very premise on which Christ established His church here on earth. If you think that Christians are hateful because they want others to follow Jesus’ teachings and find true happiness on earth then I can’t help you with that. What do you expect them to do, deny the truth and play the politically correct version of the game instead? If so, they wouldn’t be Christians! We are called to evangelize for Christ so that more people can be saved. Pointing out the errors of people’s ways and directing them to Christ’s forgiveness is a very important part of being a true Christian. We are told, not stand by while others drown, but to try and save them. Remember, we are judged, not only on what we do, but what we fail to do.

      • doctorstg2020 says :

        I don’t remember that Jesus established Christianity through the Catholic Church. I remember that the Catholic Church was established a few hundred years after Jesus was gone. That church had many people who did not act like Christ. The crusades… “holy” wars where people were killed in the name of Christ. 1 Thessalonians 4:11 says this: “and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life: You should mind your own business and work with your hands, just as we told you” . I don’t think killing people because they don’t agree is very Christian-like.
        Well, many Christians do lack love for others and are hateful. You’re kind of proving my point. Proverbs 15:11 says “A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger”. Some of your responses to me have been less than gentle. I also don’t think I’m being politically correct… if anything I’m being NOT politically correct. Calling people to follow Jesus regardless of what the so-called Christians or other people tell you to do is being different and is not acceptable in this day and age. Also I think many Christians ARE hateful because we are all sinners. Nobody is perfect. That’s why we shouldn’t judge people who make mistakes because we are making other mistakes ourselves. Whether you are drowning by an inch or a mile, you are still dying and need a Savior. My blog is a call to re-think our “quick-to-judge” response. Matthew 7:1-3 says “Judge not, that you be not judged. 2 For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. 3 Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye?”.
        I am not saying ignore things that are wrong and say they are ok. But it is not our place to judge others. We are responsible to God for our own actions and not anyone else’s. We are definitely not qualified to expect other non-Christians to behave like one. Let’s show them the love of God first, tell them we are all sinners, explain what sin is, and work on the details of specific sins if they make a personal decision to follow God. Also, many so-called “sins” that have been labeled by the American church are cultural and not Biblical, and definitely not important for salvation.
        If we’re going to be like Jesus, we will love sinners first. We will find joy in our personal relationship with God. And we will be ready to give an answer to those who ask us, and boldly proclaim our truth. Remember that Jesus’ biggest enemies in his day were the religious leaders… the Pharisees. He loved the sinners for who they were.

      • K. Q. Duane says :

        How could you have missed that? Do you remember St. Peter? Jesus said to him, “And I say also unto thee, that thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.” Matthew 16:18. The Pope’s of the Roman Catholic Church can be traced directly back to St. Peter. There is not another Christian faith that can claim that connection or lineage. The men of the church a human too. Again, who are you to judge? The last time I checked St. Augustine was still dead. The Crusades were undertake by the French Catholic monarchs and the Catholic English monarch to save the Holy Land, including Bethlehem and Jerusalem from destruction by the Muslims. They went to reclaim Jesus’ birthplace from those who hated Him. These men were in fact martyrs for their Christian faith, not barbarians. I want you to re-read your post and see who started this confrontation? Your unjust and vile words and accusations would piss off the Pope. Christianity will never survive on earth if left to the predilections of individuals. An omnipresent institution must preserve and promulgate the true faith, thereby outliving its members in order to continue to spread Christ’s teachings throughout the centuries. What specifically makes you think Christians are hateful? You continue to contradict yourself. On one hand you says no one should judge another, and yet that is exactly what you are doing with regards to Christians. Judging someone, as in the court of law, is different from leading by example, explaining to people why they are sinning or encouraging them to give up their sinful lives. That is the essence of Christianity. Accusing Christians of being judgmental, (and I have a sneaking feeling this accusation some how has to do with homosexuality, since it’s all the rage at the moment) ignores the fundamental directive of Christians to help people live according to the good advice given to us, by our Creator, in the Bible. Trying to live successfully while deliberately ignoring the instructions in the Bible is like trying to assemble a $150 Lego set, without the directions.
        The Catholic Church was specifically established by Jesus and “qualified” by the Holy Spirit to evangelize to non-Christians with the expectation that through the grace of a God, they will accept Jesus as their Lord and Savior.

      • K. Q. Duane says :

        A final thought. Yes, Jesus loved the sinners but He remanded them, “to sin no more.” He did not say it was OK to be forgiven and then go out and sin again and again and again.

  6. doctorstg2020 says :

    You are basically claiming that the catholic church is infallible because Jesus said he would build the church on Peter. I think this is your interpretation of Jesus’ words. Peter led the church in his day and brought many to the Lord. The Catholic church did not come about until later, and Jesus never outlined a papacy in the Bible. We are going to disagree on this. I am not Catholic and do don’t think that the papacy is a Biblical establishment. I think the leadership started and stopped with Peter, as Jesus never indicated other leaders would emerge after him that would be the sole spiritual fathers of the church. This is a human ordination. I also disagree with you about the crusades, but perhaps we can agree to disagree. I believe being a part of God’s church is directly related to a personal relationship with God, hence the verse “believe on the Lord Jesus Christ and thou shalt be saved and thy house” in Acts. In this verse, being a Christian is completely dependent upon believing in Jesus. Therefore our disagreement on these lesser matters (papacy, theologies) is not the deciding factor in being a Christian.

    Maybe I have contradicted myself somehow, I will go back and re-read. You are also contradicting yourself in that you say we should be able to judge each other but get mad when I am encouraging others to live by Jesus’ example. You can judge me, I can’t really stop you. I think we are actually agreeing on a lot of things. I do think we should go and “sin no more” and have never indicated otherwise. Did you read the end of my blog?

    I also am not making a case for or against homosexuality in any of these blogs. All I was implying via my comments on Westboro Baptist Church is that being hateful and violent/emotionally abusive toward a homosexual, especially to single them out among other sinners (we are ALL sinners!), is not necessary and is rarely done in a loving manner. I think this does more harm than good, and is rarely the way to bring others closer to God. As you said, living by example, speaking the truth, not being afraid to say what YOU know to be right or wrong, is how we should live.

    You are right, this is the talk of the town lately, and I think that overall everyone in our culture is overly-excited with talking/obsessing about sex. This is not our purpose, and I think you can agree with me there. We were meant for so much more! I lament over the fact that this culture cannot seem to have a conversation with anyone without bringing sex into it. Why are we so obsessed? Maybe because we find instant pleasure/gratification in the act and use it as another way to try and find happiness in this sad world. If only all of our thoughts were of higher things which can bring higher joy and happiness than that of temporary physical pleasure!

    I hope that you spend some time to pray over these things I have said with an open mind, as I have done with your opinions. I appreciate all of your thoughts and think your heart is in the right place. It is a GOOD thing to defend what God says about what is right and wrong. It is good to be vocal. My primary battle here is with those who project their opinions about lesser matters on others, particularly when we project them on people who are not Christians, judging them for particular sins instead of loving them, praying for them, and being an example.

    As Peter himself said in 1 Peter 3:
    14 But even if you should suffer for righteousness’ sake, you will be blessed. Have no fear of them, nor be troubled, 15 but in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect, 16 having a good conscience, so that, when you are slandered, those who revile your good behavior in Christ may be put to shame. 17 For it is better to suffer for doing good, if that should be God’s will, than for doing evil.

    I don’t think that arguing this case publicly anymore is helpful, but would be happy to continue this conversation privately. Feel free to email me at stgrob2020@gmail.com.

    • geoffreylake says :

      The teachings of Christ are really quite simple, love, non-judgment, forgiveness and humility, “humility” which I believe comes from practicing the first three… but putting them into action is another thing.

      Although broad and of course not applicable to those who are trying to truly follow Christ’s teachings, I like Gandhi’s quote on the subject, let’s hope that it teaches us humility. I think Christ and Gandhi would have been great friends.

      “I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ.” Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi

  7. Craig Truglia says :

    In Ephesians 4:29 it speaks of ” Let no [u]unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification [v]according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear.”

    Pretty much undercuts your argument here.

    Best,
    Craig

    • doctorstg2020 says :

      Agreed that we should not speak unwholesome words! However, what defines unwholesome? Many people choose to use the word “crap” instead of the word “shit” because it’s considered less crude. However, both mean the same thing. There is a double standard on this issue. Maybe we should all focus on the meaning behind our words and be careful not to judge where we compromise. Or else don’t use any of those choice words or their substitutes at all! Surely that would be the best option, but nobody is perfect in speech. As it says in James 3, “For we all stumble in many ways. And if anyone does not stumble in what he says, he is a perfect man, able also to bridle his whole body.”
      Like I said, there is no list of specific words in the Bible which are on or off-limits (except for using God’s name in vain). Focusing on the meaning behind our words – being careful in our speech as a whole is far more important than technicalities of which specific words are off-limits.

      • Craig Truglia says :

        Spoken words that are not edifying ultimately are warned against, but “unwholesome” is determined by the society and our conscience bears witness. For example, “he that pisseth against the wall” is a term used quite a few times in the King James Bible, and it shows that a word in of itself is not bad but the intent of the person saying it does. THe translators who used the word “pisseth” or me using the word “pisseth” now would be different than someone saying, “I gotta go take a p***.”

        Ultimately, I feel we know innately and to those whom something is unclean, it is indeed unclean (as discussed in Romans 14).

Leave a Reply

